AWP Eve

January 31, 2011

I’m all packed for AWP and leaving Fresno tomorrow morning en route to D.C.!  This will be my second time around for the conference, and while I’m looking forward to all the panels and readings and parties, as well as being on the east coast for the first time, also while tabling with The Normal School, and hopefully finding out about opportunities to keep me busy this fall post-MFA… I have to say that, deep down in my nerd-heart, I am looking forward to the books.

I picked up so many amazing poetry collections last year, and they are what kept me company since then.  There’s something about a giant gymnasium filled with tables of books, often at great deals for teachers or just in general, sold and bought in person by folks who love reading and writing.  Off the top of my head, I am grateful for picking up Aimee Nezhukumatathil’s first two from the Tupelo table, All-American Poem by Matthew Dickman somewhere somehow, The Real Warnings by Rhett Iseman Trull at the Ahsahta table, an anthology of Mexican poetry titled Reversible Monuments from Copper Canyon, and so many more books of poems that fueled me, talked to me, and helped me write over the past year.  I look forward to stuffing this year’s readings in whatever crannies of my suitcase I can find, because they’ll certainly carry me through more than I can foresee.

Leave a Reply

